New Giclees on Canvas by Tamara Natalie Madden

We are proud to offer two new giclees on canvas by rising art star Tamara Natalie Madden and to introduce her, through her own words, to our readers.

tamara

tamara_natalie_madden_cyclestamara_natalie_madden_spatial

Cycles                                                      Spatial

Limited Edition Giclees on canvas that are hand-embellished by the artist available from Avisca.com.

Tamara Natalie Madden

Tamara Natalie Madden is a US-based, Jamaica-born artist who has been making art over a ten-year career that has seen her rise from obscurity to the pages of magazines, to solo gallery exhibitions and to being a widely collected artist. But her life has not always been rosy and her life continues to be a struggle. While struggling with a life-threatening illness, Tamara turned to painting and she’s never turned back. Here she talks about the value of struggle and celebrating African beauty through her work. READ ON

What inspired you to be an artist/ what inspires you to create? 
I’ve been an artist all of my life, but my first inspirations came from my Uncle Carl in Jamaica. He drew pictures out of magazines, and at other times he would carve wood. It was all very fascinating to me. I was also inspired by the drawings in picture books. I was always artistically inclined, but once I began to recognize the art around me, I was even more inspired.

My current work is inspired by the intrinsic beauty of everyday people who are often overlooked. I chose to represent their inner beauty by turning them into representations of kings, queens and warriors. We don’t often see the greatness in people because we spend too much time judging them.

What has been your greatest challenge in being an artist? 
The greatest challenge is the struggle. Making the decision to become a full time artist, is not for the faint of heart. It comes with ups and downs, and lots of failures. I struggled to be taken seriously, to be respected, and to push through, despite the situation.

How have you dealt with/overcome it? 
I wholeheartedly believe that struggle builds character. I think that it really helps to make you a stronger person. The struggle taught me about passion, and diligence, and faith. Without those things, I wouldn’t be the woman I am today, and definitely not the artist I am today.

What has been your greatest achievement? 
My greatest achievement is my survival from illness, and my willingness to listen to God and pursue my art. Art helped me through my illness, and when I got better I knew that it was what I was supposed to do with my life. That was ten years ago, and now I’m here, alive, healthy and living my passion.

Where will you be in 10 years? 
Ten years ago I received a kidney transplant, from my wonderful brother, that saved my life, and that same year I participated in my first art exhibition. I have had many accomplishments in the last 10 years, and I can only hope that ten years from now my art will be making more of a difference in the lives of my people.

Read more of Tamara’s story in these publications:
Heart and Soul Magazine: Finding Peace
African & Afro-Diasporan Art Talks

VIEW ORIGINAL WORK BY TAMARA NATALIE MADDEN

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

